Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 7th, 2010

I am blessed to be able to live on the edge of the Ozark Mountains.  Further east of here, the Appalachians rise like archangels.  To the west, the Rockies reveal God-sized scale.  Halfway between these two great mountain ranges, the Ozarks are grand on a human scale.  I like that.Here the  Buffalo River can be seen from the Goat Trail, accessible downstream from the Steel Creek put-in.

We have grand vistas.  Do you see my friend in the distance in the photograph?

At this time of year, we have so much green that this creek looks green in the reflection.

Not only do we have glorious rugged landscapes, we’ve got a state full of wildlife.  Just today I saw a harem of turkeys in a field a mile from our home.  I didn’t have my camera with me, but you can see other Ozark wildlife but clicking here and scrolling down.

If you’ve never visited the Ozarks, consider it.  These humble mountains have a beauty I can only begin to reveal here.  Instead of inspiring you to contemplate the divine, they may just inspire you to contemplate humanity and yourself.

Copyright 2010 Ozarkhomesteader.  All rights reserved.  Short excerpts with full URL and attribution to Ozarkhomesteader are welcome.  Please contact me via the comments section for permission to use photographs.  I will respond privately.

Read Full Post »